Who Needs Uncle Bob?

142044-414x275-The-scales-of-Libra

Daily Prompt: Have you ever faced a difficult situation when you had to choose between sorting it out yourself, or asking someone else for an easy fix? What did you choose — and would you make the same choice today?

From a young age, I was always one to question the pros and cons of every situation. Maybe it’s my curiosity, or my predisposition as a Libra to crave for everything balanced and informed. From simple things like what to eat for lunch or whether to take the bus or the train, my mind is always running rampant with the possibilities.

This can be both a good and bad thing. It’s good because at the end of the day, when I come to a decision I feel relieved and at ease. It’s also bad because if that decision turns out to be the wrong one I’ll wallow for hours over the prospect of missed opportunity. My need to weigh options has also left me in situations where I give up and let the situation overwhelm me. Feeling pressure to act, pressure to adapts, and pressure to react are common parts of everyday life for most people.

Life is all about the decisions we make and I don’t know about you, but that very concept is something that always rings in the back of my mind. It doesn’t stop me from being impulsive, or reckless at times but at the end of the day it helps me to move on from that with a lesson. It also helps to banish the notion of regret, because I know I made a decision to fit me, and not for anyone else.

When I first went to college, I went into the school of business at my university. I didn’t feel confident or engaged, but continued to tell myself that it was the best course of action. I was always a creatively inclined kid and I used to draw, write, and daydream of traveling on the road. Some of my family were quick to shoot that notion down, insisting that no one wants to become a “starving artist”. Throughout high school, I grew in all manners and found myself interested in all kinds of things, but at the end of the day I stared down at that application and wrote ‘Business Management’ in bold letters as my major. It wan’t until I finished a year that I had enough of feeling like I didn’t quite fit. Life is made up of your decisions, not anyone else’s and with that in mind I signed papers to transfer into the school of communications at my school and switch my major to something that actually interested me- Public Relations; it wasn’t quite the starving artist path and it doesn’t sound sexy or alluring to some, but it was a personal choice that made me feel confident and free. Never allow yourself to become second fiddle to the opinions of others. It’s easy to turn to someone and ask for their opinion or direction when dealing with tough decisions, but at the end of the day you’re the one that has to live with the decision.
Calling Uncle Bob

Leave a Reply

